Spring

Can I just say something?  I hate winter. I know that is a ridiculous thing to say considering I live in Ohio.  I don’t mind driving in the snow, snow is sort of pretty.  I don’t mind bundling up to go outside either.  What I hate is that my bones hurt and I can’t do any gardening.  I used to laugh at my dad when he would predict the weather with his knees, or my aunt would tell me it’s about to rain because her back was aching.  Let me apologize now.  I  get what they were talking about.    I love the outdoors.  During warm weather that is.  I love planting flowers and vegetables.  I love seeing the little yellow flowers open up and turning into tiny tomatos.  I love planting rows of seedlings, waiting for colors to erupt from those seedlings, creating a rainbow of purples, pinks, oranges and blues.  Yes, I have spring fever.  I am a creative person.  I work with colorful beads and clay to make jewelry.  I feel like I’m in a slump.  I feel like if I could feel warm sunshine on my face, then I would be more inspired.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’ve been making quite a few pieces.  But it seems like I haven’t had a Really Good idea in awhile.  Oh well, this is Ohio, and like we say here, wait a minute and the weather will change.  It really is true.  A couple of weeks ago we were hitting highs near 70.  Today we had almost a foot of snow.  It’ll be over soon, and I’ll be outside with my hand shovel and a couple flats of impatients and petunias, happy as can be.

 

Leave a Reply

