Loom weaving

Hello everyone.  The featured image in this post is a favorite of mine, and one that I am proud of.  I’m fairly new at jewelry making.  I’ve been doing it for about a year now, give or take.  I have been steadily teaching myself the art.  I’m not going to lie, it has been a difficult journey.  I started out with wire and beads, beaded earrings, a few necklaces and some polymer charms.  I am still trying to find the technique I am most passionate about.  I think that passion is very important for this type of work.  Although it doesn’t feel like work.  I’m honestly not sure what it feels like.  I guess at this point it feels like a hobby.  Really that’s what it is right now.
Hobby isn’t quite the right word either.  I suppose you don’t teach yourself a hobby.  From the time I wake up in the morning, until the time I go to bed at night I usually have a bracelet making book open in front of me, or some kind of tutorial playing on Youtube.  If it was work I would be making a lot more money.  At least I hope so!  Anyway, as I go through the day getting my daughter ready for school, cleaning the house, or cooking dinner, you will find me stirring a pot of boiling pasta all the while studying pictures and diagrams of beading patterns or weaving techniques.
As of today I closed my Etsy shop.   I plan to reopen soon, possibly with a new name.  Hopefully all of my “studying ” has paid off.  I definitely jumped into opening a shop too soon.  Like I said  earlier, I’m trying to find the technique I’m most passionate about.  I have been learning different weaving and braiding techniques since early December and I have to say that it has been the most satisfying by far.  I have been using the same pieces of hemp cord, suede cord, and waxed polyester to braid or weave different designs and styles until the pieces of material are frayed and unraveling.  Every time I master a new knot I proudly show my ten year old daughter. At first she got pretty excited, but almost 3 months later she will barely glance at my new finished project and say, cool, before she quickly slides her eyes back to the glowing screen of her laptop.  I don’t hold it against her though.  Lol.
I suppose if I keep at it I will either figure out the kind of jewelry I want to sell on Etsy, or I will continue making bracelets and an occasional pair of earrings for my friends and family.  My niece and my son both seem to really enjoy the bracelets, so I have easy ideas for Christmas and birthday presents.  Goodnight everyone.  Hope you all have sweet dreams and find something that you are passionate about because passion isn’t only important for finding happiness in your career,  it’s about having passion for the way you live your life every day.

 

Leave a Reply

